A student got caught plagiarizing with ChatGPT, his professor gave a zero on the assignment and asked him to send him an email - ChatGPT gives advice on how to handle this

Co-written with ChatGPT

According to ChatGPT -

Here are some steps you can take to handle this situation:

  1. Take responsibility: Acknowledge your mistake and take full responsibility for your actions. Plagiarism is a serious academic offense, and it is important to own up to your error.

  2. Reflect on your actions: Consider the reasons behind your decision to plagiarize. Reflecting on your motivations can help you understand the gravity of your actions and prevent similar incidents in the future.

  3. Apologize sincerely: Write an email to your professor expressing your sincere apologies for plagiarizing. Be honest, remorseful, and acknowledge the impact of your actions on the trust placed in you as a student.

  4. Accept the consequences: Understand that receiving a zero on the assignment is a legitimate consequence for your actions. Accept it gracefully and be prepared to face any additional penalties or requirements your professor may impose.

  5. Seek guidance: If you are unsure about what to include in your apology email, consider seeking guidance from a trusted academic advisor or mentor. They can offer advice on how to structure your email and express your remorse effectively.

  6. Learn from the experience: Use this incident as an opportunity for personal growth and learning. Educate yourself about proper citation practices, academic integrity, and responsible use of external resources. Take steps to ensure that you understand and adhere to your institution’s policies on academic honesty.

  7. Make amends: Show your commitment to rectifying the situation by seeking opportunities to improve your understanding of academic integrity. This could involve attending workshops, seminars, or online courses on citation ethics and academic honesty.

  8. Rebuild trust: Rebuilding trust with your professor may take time and consistent demonstration of academic integrity. Be diligent in your future assignments, ensuring that you properly cite and credit all sources used. Demonstrate your commitment to ethical academic practices.

Here’s a sample email ChatGPT suggested the student write:

Subject: Sincere Apologies for Academic Dishonesty

Dear [Professor’s Last Name],

I hope this email finds you well. I am writing to you with utmost sincerity and regret to admit that I engaged in academic dishonesty by using an AI language model called ChatGPT for assistance on my recent assignment. I deeply apologize for my actions and understand the severity of the consequences they carry.

I take full responsibility for my mistake, and I want to assure you that it was not my intention to deceive or undermine the integrity of the assignment. I acknowledge the importance of academic honesty and the trust that is placed in me as a student. I am deeply sorry for violating that trust.

I understand that you have assigned a zero grade for the assignment, and I accept this penalty as a fair consequence of my actions. I am prepared to face any additional disciplinary measures that you deem necessary to rectify this situation and uphold the standards of academic integrity.

I want to emphasize that I have reflected on my actions and understand the gravity of the situation. I am committed to learning from this experience and taking the necessary steps to ensure that such behavior does not repeat itself in the future. I will actively educate myself on proper citation practices, academic integrity, and responsible use of external resources.

I deeply regret the disappointment and frustration my actions have caused you. I assure you that I am dedicated to earning back your trust by adhering to the highest standards of academic integrity in all future assignments and coursework.

Thank you for your understanding and for giving me the opportunity to address this matter. If there are any further actions or steps you would like me to take to rectify the situation, please let me know, and I will comply without hesitation.

Once again, I extend my sincere apologies for my actions. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Respectfully,

[Your Full Name]
[Your Student ID]
[Your Email Address]
[Your Phone Number]

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

It’s the Ecosystem, Dummy!

While I’m not the biggest fan of the design of the Apple Watch I think there’s plenty of potential in the technology itself. With Apple’s push into wearables, like its push into tablets, we’ll see the jumpstart of a nascent tech field... Continue →