I’m Sticking with Uber

The most recent hullaballoo at Uber is nothing to sneeze at, using internal tools to track a journalist critical of your services isn’t just unethical it’s sleazy. This behavior appears to be the modus operandi of the booming car sharing service, Uber seems to have an asshole problem.

That being said, I’m sticking with Uber.

I find their behavior over the past few months repulsive but they share ranks with Google, Facebook, Amazon, Yelp, Yahoo, Tesla and many many others. The reality is corporate misconduct isn’t on the rise, transparency is (forced or not).

What I’d like to see is a vastly improving ethical corporate culture so I don’t have to choose between services that just work and second-tiered also-rans because all the tech companies have ethical lapses.

I’m not making an excuse for Uber I just like their service. I’ve tried the others, they’re not as good and not as ubiquitous. There’s a line Uber has to cross before I decide not to use them, they haven’t crossed it yet. Please don’t make me choose Lyft because this is the latest moral outrage.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

10 Jobs of the Future

Co-written with ChatGPT Below are ten jobs we may just see in the near future, reflecting current technological trends. Looking for work? Get ahead of the curve and familiarize yourself with these opportunities. VR Experience Designer... Continue →